Gluten is the protein in cereals that defines their quality and their breadmaking properties. Bran does not contain gluten. As the amount of bran increases, the gluten content of the ground cereal decreases. High quality bread is bread made from dough containing high strength gluten. However, unfortunately, some consumers are gluten intolerant (celiac disease) and have to watch their diet. When choosing prepared foods, they should identify in the ingredients or in the stated traces present the cereals to avoid. In order to protect health and in response to consumers' right to information, the EU has adopted legislation requiring labelling of gluten-containing cereals on the packaging of such products. There is gluten in wheat, rye, barley and oats. There is no gluten in corn, rice and potatoes. The foods in which we typically look for gluten are doughs, breads, cakes, biscuits, pizzas, sauces and some meat products such as sausages, burgers and other similar products. There are special gluten-free products, but, as always, your doctor has the final say on these.